About us

Transparent, Sustainable, Direct

Meet the farms

Enthusiastic about coffee, we have made it our mission to market Brazilian speciality coffees directly in Europe to improve overall quality, transparency and fairness. Luis' family has been growing coffee (specialities, fine-cup, commercial) on a total of 5 farms in the Mogiana region since 2003 and maintains close contact with many farmers in the region. Often labelled as the country of origin for mass-produced coffee, Brazil has excellent coffees that deserve to enchant coffee connoisseurs worldwide.

What drives us

transparency.png
Transparency

Ocafi is dedicated to exclusively transparent and traceable practices. Understand the price of your coffee beyond FOB, discover what farmers are paid at farmgate, and where costs are created on each coffee's journey. Help us develop an ecosystem, committing together towards the socio-cultural development of the community. Through leaner supply chains, we aim to establish fairer practices in the cultivation and trade of coffee. Let us share the importance of honest, transparent, and high-quality coffee with every single consumer.

ecology-and-environment.png
Innovation

Our Lab is a creative space used for quality control and innovation. Today, only excellent coffees yield profits for farmers. Pre-harvest sampling plays a crucial role in improving each coffee's ultimate character. Testing coffee fruits earlier and more thoroughly as well as directly on the farms, makes processing decisions more manageable and profitable. Our Lab is a space for learning, teaching, brainstorming, benchmarking, and analysing. Most importantly, it is a place that connects people. Through channelling consumer demands into direct actions on the farms, we can help modulate the coffee cherries to achieve specific taste profiles. 

green-earth.png
Sustainability

Today, coffee is rarely produced equitably and sustainably. For many years, it was perceived solely as a traded commodity – let us work together to change that. We need to understand coffee as a fruit, a living product. Let us develop an ecosystem that is more efficient and transparent. Building leaner supply chains provides fairer pay for farmers, thereby setting incentives for better practices at the origin. We offer directly traded coffee from our signature and partner farms – which is why each bean tells its own unique story, reflected in the taste of the cup.

Luis Paulo Guardabaxo

from

São José do Rio Pardo

Luis came into contact with the subject of coffee at an early age and developed a strong passion. Today he manages one of the family's five farms and is consistently interested in improving quality and transparency in coffee growing and trading.

Niklas Kügler

from 

Freiburg im Breisgau

A great fan of fantastic coffee, he developed a concept together with Luis to further improve Brazilian coffee and provide Brazilian speciality coffees to a larger platform more transparently and sustainably.

The Team

Über uns

Transparent, Sustainable, Direct

Meet the farms

Begeistert von Kaffee haben wir es uns zur Aufgabe gemacht, brasilianische Spezialitätenkaffees direkt in Deutschland zu vermarkten, um so die Qualität im Ursprungsland weiter zu verbessern. Luis' Familie baut seit 2003 auf insgesamt 5 Farmen in der Mogiana Region Kaffees an (Spezialitäten, Fine-Cup, Kommerziell) und hält engen Kontakt zu vielen Farmern der Region. Oft als Ursprungsland für Massenproduzierten Kaffee abgestempelt, lassen sich in Brasilien hervorragende Kaffees finden, die es verdient haben weltweit Kaffeegenießer zu verzaubern.

Was uns antreibt

Transparenz

Ocafi hat sich ausschließlich transparenten und nachvollziehbaren Praktiken verschrieben. Durschauen Sie den Preis ihres Kaffees über FOB hinaus und verstehen Sie was bei der Fazenda wirklich ankommt und welche Kosten auf dem Weg von der Farm bis in die Rösttrommel entstehen. Lassen Sie uns ein nachhaltiges Ökosystem aufbauen, gemeinsam für die soziokulturelle Entwicklung der Gemeinschaft in Form von schlankeren Handelsketten engagieren, um auf diese Weise gerechtere Praktiken im Anbau und Verkauf von Kaffee zu etablieren. In Zusammenarbeit mit Ihnen möchten wir die Wichtigkeit von fairem, transparentem und qualitativ hochwertigem Kaffee an jeden einzelnen Endverbraucher weitergeben.

Innovation

Unser Labor ist ein kreativer Raum, der für die Qualitätskontrolle und Entwicklung des Kaffees von großer Wichtigkeit ist. Die Probennahme vor der Ernte, während die Qualität noch optimiert werden kann, spielt deshalb eine entscheidende Rolle bei der Verbesserung des Charakters eines jeden Kaffees. Das frühere und gründlichere Testen von Kaffeefrüchten direkt auf der Farm macht Verarbeitungsentscheidungen berechenbarer und profitabler. Unser Labor ist ein Raum des ständigen Analysierens, Lernens und Verbesserns. Nicht zu unterschätzen ist hierbei auch der soziale Aspekt eines gemeinsamen Labors, das jedem das Gefühl gibt, aktiv Teil eines stets zukunftsorientierten Kaffeeprojekts zu sein und jeden dazu anregt, die Verbesserung des Kaffees vorantreiben zu wollen.

Nachhaltigkeit

Heute wird Kaffee selten auf faire und nachhaltige Weise produziert. Das liegt daran, dass er lange ausschließlich als gehandelte Ware verstanden wurde und selten als das was er ist – eine lebendige Frucht. Zusammen müssen wir dieses Ökosystem mitentwickeln, um Farmer im Ursprung fairer zu behandeln und so Anreize für nachhaltige Anbaupraktiken zu setzen. Wir arbeiten mit direkt gehandeltem Kaffee, weshalb bei uns jede Bohne ihre eigene einzigartige Geschichte erzählt, die sich im Geschmack in der Tasse widerspiegelt.

Luis Paulo Guardabaxo

aus 

São José do Rio Pardo

Bereits im frühen Alter kam Luis mit dem Thema Kaffee in Berührung und entwickelte eine starke Passion. Heute managed er eine der fünf Farmen der Familie und ist konsequent an der Verbesserung von Qualität und Transparenz im Kaffeeanbau und -handel interessiert.

Niklas Kügler

aus 

Freiburg im Breisgau

Selbst ein großer Kaffeefreund entwickelte er mit Luis zusammen ein Konzept, um den brasilianischen Kaffee weiter zu verbessern und brasilianischen Spezialitätenkaffees eine größere Plattform zu liefern.

Das Team

©2018 by Ocafi GmbH.